Hulu Selangor District Council (HSDC) was established on 1st January 1975 according to Section 4 Local Government Act 1976 (Act 171). MDHS is the combination of:

  1. Asam Kumbang Local Council
  2. Kalumpang Local Council

Total area size under the administration of the council in the year 2002 was 270.38 km square that consist of 13 mukims. The main area under MDHS administration consists of:-

  1. Hulu Bernam
  2. Kalumpang
  3. Kerling
  4. Kuala Kubu Bharu
  5. Rasa
  6. Batang kali
  7. Hulu Yam
  8. Serendah
  9. Sg. Choh
  10. Bandar Baru Bukit Beruntung
  11. Bandar Baru Bukit Sentosa
  12. Bandar Baru Sg. Buaya
  13. Bandar Lembah Beringin

Administration Size Area:

 Original MDHS administration area  5,501.42 hectare
 New Area  21,536.29 hectare
 Total MDHS area  27,037.71 hectare
 Hulu Selangor Area  174,047 hectare